من نحن

مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات (OPC) مؤسسةُ أبحاثٍ مستـقلة ومُزوِّد خدمات، تأسَّس في غازي عنتاب في تركيا، عام 2014. يقوم المركز بإنتاج أبحاثٍ أصيلة ويُقدِّم خدماتٍ استشارية لدعم صُنع السياسات وبرامج التنمية ومشاريع الاستجابة الإنسانية. يجمع المركز، الذي يقوده ويملكه سوريون، بين المعرفة المحلِّية والخبرة التكنولوجية والعِلمية، مع الاستفادة من إحصائيِّين ومُصمِّمي جرافيك في المركز لـتَـقديم منتجاتٍ نهائية أصيلة وسهلة الفهم.

بين عامي 2014 و2018، كان المركز مُزوِّد خدماتٍ حصريٍّ لمركز الشرق للدراسات (ORC) في دبي. لاحقًا، اتَّـجه مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات إلى تنمية العلاقات مع الهيئات الحكومية وغير الحكومية العامِلة في سوريا ومع الشَّتات السوري. نحن حاليًّا في مرحلة نموٍّ نتجتْ إثر تطوير قدراتنا بشكلٍ كبير لـمُواكبة زيادة الطلب من العملاء.

فريقنا
كرم شعّار

كرم شعّار

مدير الأبحاث

عاش الدكتور كرم شعّار، الذي ينحدر من محافظة حلب، في المملكة العربية السعودية وماليزيا ونيوزيلندا. كان ناشطًا من أجل الإصلاحات الديمقراطية في العام الأول من الانتفاضة السورية، لكنه فـرَّ لاحقًا من البلاد وواصَل نشاطه من الخارج. تُركِّز أبحاثه على الاقتصاد السياسي في سوريا. نُشرت كتابات كرم في معهد الشرق الأوسط في واشنطن ومشروع حلب ومركز كارنيغي للشرق الأوسط وأتلانتيك كاونسل، ويظهر في لقاءاتٍ في وسائل إعلامية مختلفة، بما في ذلك سي إن إن، ذا صنداي تايمز، بي بي سي، سي إن بي سي، بي آر آي، والجزيرة وغيرها. وهو حاليًا محاضرٌ أول حول الشرق الأوسط بجامعة ماسي النيوزيلندية وباحثٌ غير مقيم في معهد الشرق الأوسط.

محمد الخليلي

محمد الخليلي

المدير التشغيلي

يمتلك محمد ما يقرب من عقدٍ من الخبرة في الإدارة والقيادة الناجحة. أسَّس قسم خدمة المنظمات غير الحكومية في مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات. يعمل محمد وفقًا لمبدأ يقضي بأن على جميع الشركاء الاستمتاع بعلاقـتهم مع مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات أثناء تلقيهم أعلى مستوى من الخدمة، ولذلك فهو يهدف إلى مُواءمة احتـياجات العملاء بشكلٍ وثيق ومُستمر مع خبرات المركز، لـضمان تجربةٍ ناجحة لـكلِّ عميل. قبل أن يصبح موظفًا بدوام كامل في المركز، شغل محمد مناصبَ عليا في العديد من المنظمات غير الحكومية، وهو مؤسس مشارك للعديد من المبادرات والمنظمات، بما في ذلك منظمة كش ملك ومبادرة مكافحة الليشمانيا ومركز دارنا.

باسل الجنيدي

باسل الجنيدي

الرئيس التنفيذي والمؤسس

باسل الجنيدي هو مؤسس مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات ومالكُه ومديره التنفيذي. أثناء الثورة السورية، كان يرى باسل أن وجود “مركزٍ فكريٍّ” مستقل ومُستدام في السياق السوري سيكون مستحيلًا بدون نموذجٍ خـلَّاق وهادفٍ للربح. كما أن باسل مؤسسٌ مشارك ومدير تشغيل لشركة Az Intelligence، وهي شركة مقرها في دبي وتُدير منافذَ تمويلٍ واستثمار بالتجزئة عبر الإنترنت. ويعمل أيضًا كمؤسس مشارك وعضو مجلس أمناء منظمة كش ملك، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تُدافع عن حقوق الإنسان والتعليم. درس باسل الطبَّ وتخرج كطبيب من جامعة يريفان الطبية الحكومية في عام 2011، لكنه لم يمارس الطب منذ ذلك الحين.

باسل الجنيدي

باسل الجنيدي

الرئيس التنفيذي والمؤسس

باسل الجنيدي هو مؤسس مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات ومالكُه ومديره التنفيذي. أثناء الثورة السورية، كان يرى باسل أن وجود “مركزٍ فكريٍّ” مستقل ومُستدام في السياق السوري سيكون مستحيلًا بدون نموذجٍ خـلَّاق وهادفٍ للربح. كما أن باسل مؤسسٌ مشارك ومدير تشغيل لشركة Az Intelligence، وهي شركة مقرها في دبي وتُدير منافذَ تمويلٍ واستثمار بالتجزئة عبر الإنترنت. ويعمل أيضًا كمؤسس مشارك وعضو مجلس أمناء منظمة كش ملك، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تُدافع عن حقوق الإنسان والتعليم. درس باسل الطبَّ وتخرج كطبيب من جامعة يريفان الطبية الحكومية في عام 2011، لكنه لم يمارس الطب منذ ذلك الحين.

محمد الخليلي

محمد الخليلي

المدير التشغيلي

يمتلك محمد ما يقرب من عقدٍ من الخبرة في الإدارة والقيادة الناجحة. أسَّس قسم خدمة المنظمات غير الحكومية في مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات. يعمل محمد وفقًا لمبدأ يقضي بأن على جميع الشركاء الاستمتاع بعلاقـتهم مع مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات أثناء تلقيهم أعلى مستوى من الخدمة، ولذلك فهو يهدف إلى مُواءمة احتـياجات العملاء بشكلٍ وثيق ومُستمر مع خبرات المركز، لـضمان تجربةٍ ناجحة لـكلِّ عميل. قبل أن يصبح موظفًا بدوام كامل في المركز، شغل محمد مناصبَ عليا في العديد من المنظمات غير الحكومية، وهو مؤسس مشارك للعديد من المبادرات والمنظمات، بما في ذلك منظمة كش ملك ومبادرة مكافحة الليشمانيا ومركز دارنا.

كرم شعّار

كرم شعّار

مدير الأبحاث

عاش الدكتور كرم شعّار، الذي ينحدر من محافظة حلب، في المملكة العربية السعودية وماليزيا ونيوزيلندا. كان ناشطًا من أجل الإصلاحات الديمقراطية في العام الأول من الانتفاضة السورية، لكنه فـرَّ لاحقًا من البلاد وواصَل نشاطه من الخارج. تُركِّز أبحاثه على الاقتصاد السياسي في سوريا. نُشرت كتابات كرم في معهد الشرق الأوسط في واشنطن ومشروع حلب ومركز كارنيغي للشرق الأوسط وأتلانتيك كاونسل، ويظهر في لقاءاتٍ في وسائل إعلامية مختلفة، بما في ذلك سي إن إن، ذا صنداي تايمز، بي بي سي، سي إن بي سي، بي آر آي، والجزيرة وغيرها. وهو حاليًا محاضرٌ أول حول الشرق الأوسط بجامعة ماسي النيوزيلندية وباحثٌ غير مقيم في معهد الشرق الأوسط.

نسرين الزرعي

نسرين الزرعي

زميلة باحثة

نسرين مهتمةٌ بالديناميات السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية للصراع في جميع أنحاء سوريا. على الرغم من أن لديها درجة علمية عليا في نظريةِ أدب ما بعد الاستعمار، تحولت اهتماماتها مع مشاركتها كناشطةٍ مع منظمات المجتمع المدني السورية منذ عام 2011 في مجالات المقاومة غير العنيفة وتمكين المرأة والتعليم.

عروة خليفة

عروة خليفة

زميل باحث

عروة صحفي وباحثٌ مهتم بالتغـيُّرات الاجتماعية والسياسية والتحول السياسي داخل سوريا، مع التركيز بشكلٍ خاص على الكشف عن هياكل السلطة التي شكَّلها صراع القوى المحلية والإقليمية. درس العلوم السياسية، وعمل كصحفي منذ عام 2010، وكباحث منذ عام 2015. يُركِّز عمله بشكل أساسي على تتبع الفصائل المسلحة داخل سوريا وتأثيرها اللاحق على المجتمع.

راجي الجندي

راجي الجندي

مختصٌّ أول في المراقبة والتقيِيم والمساءلة والتعلُّم (MEAL)

راجي لديه ما يقرب من ثماني سنوات من الخبرة في المجال الإنساني. عمل كمدير مشروع ومتخصص (MEAL) في العديد من المنظمات المختلفة، بالإضافة إلى كونه مدربًا للعمل المجتمعي. راجي خريج إدارة الأعمال من جامعة حلب وكان طالبَ ماجستير في السنة الثانية في إدارة الجودة قبل أن تتوقَّف دراسته بسبب الصراع في سوريا. يقوم راجي، بصفته أحد كبار المتخصِّصين في (MEAL)، بإعداد منهجيات المراقبة والتقيِيم والمساءلة والتعلُّم، وتطوير خطط العمل، وإدارة جميع المشاريع المتعلقة بذلك. يستفيد من خبرته الطويلة كمُحلِّلِ بيانات لتحليل البيانات النوعية والكمية في مشاريع مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات، بما في ذلك التقديم على منح للمشاريع الجديدة.

وليام كريستو

وليام كريستو

زميل باحث

ويل كريستو صحفيٌّ وباحث مُتخصِّص في قضايا بلاد الشام، وسوريا على وجه الخصوص. تخرَّج من جامعة فلوريدا بدرجة البكالوريوس في العلاقات الدولية. ثم عمل كصحفي مع منظمة “سوريا على طول” في عمّان، الأردن، لمدة عامين قبل أن يعمل بشكل مستقل. نُشر له مقالات في المونيتور والعربي الجديد ومعهد الشرق الأوسط. يتحدث العربية بطلاقة.

معتصم نواف

معتصم نواف

مدير تقـنية المعلومات

يتمتع معتصم بخبرة في التدريب الإلكتروني ومنصات التعلم، وتوثيق التراث الثقافي باستخدام النمذَجة ثلاثية الأبعاد والواقع الافتراضي، وتحليل نظام المعلومات، وتصميم وتنفيذ أنظمة قواعد البيانات وتطبيقات الويب، وتطوير الخدمات. وهو حاصلٌ على درجة الدكتوراه في علوم الكمبيوتر من جامعة جان مونيه في فرنسا، ودرجة الماجستير المشتركة في الرؤية الحاسوبية والروبوتات من جامعة هيريوت وات (المملكة المتحدة) وجامعة جيرونا (إسبانيا) وجامعة بورغوندي (فرنسا). كما درس هندسة الحاسوب في جامعة حلب.

رؤى عبيد

رؤى عبيد

موظفة مراقبة وتقيِيم ومساءلة وتعلُّم (MEAL)

عملت رؤى في مجال المراقبة والتقيِيم لأكثر من ست سنوات، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على تمكين المرأة والدعم النفسي والمشاريع التعليمية. وعملت سابقًا كمدربة للعديد من المنظمات المحلية والدولية، حيث قامت بتدريب المعلمين وموظفي الدعم في مجالات الحماية والمناصرة والعنف القائم على الجنـدر ومهارات الدعم النفسي، كما عملت أيضًا كمعلمة رياضيات للأطفال ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. حصلت رؤى على درجة علمية في تعليم الرياضيات وتدرس حاليًا هندسة المعلومات.

سلطان جلبي

سلطان جلبي

زميل باحث أول

سلطان باحثٌ ومُتـخصِّص في علم الاجتـماع مهتم بالتغير الثقافي. على الرغم من اهتمامه في البداية بالنظرية الاجتماعية ومنهجيات البحث، تحوَّل شغف سلطان تدريجيًّا إلى النظرية الاجتماعية التنموية والتطبيقية بعد حصوله على درجة الماجستير. يحاول سلطان أن يعكس هذا الشغفَ في عمله ويسعى جاهدًا لإنتاج دراساتٍ أصيلة ذات أسُس قوية في النظرية الاجتماعية تكون مفيدةً لواضعي السياسات والمُخطِّطين.

ديما دهـني

ديما دهـني

صانعة محتوى وزميلة باحثة

انضمَّت ديما إلى مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات في عام 2014، حيث طوَّرت مهاراتها البحثية من خلال العمل في عشرات المشاريع، وساعدتْ لاحقًا في تأسيس الوحدة الإعلامية للمنظمة. تُركِّز حاليًا على إنشاء المحتوى الرقمي والتواصل عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وهي شغوفةٌ بمشاركة النساء والشباب في المجالَين العام والسياسي، وتريد استخدام التكنولوجيا الرقمية للوصول إلى هذا الجمهور بأساليبَ مبتكرة قائمة على البحث. ديما خريجة علوم سياسية في عام 2018 من جامعة صباح الدين زعيم في اسطنبول. كما أكملت برنامجًا تدريبيًّا في الحَوكمة وبناء السلام مع جامعة جورج ميسون في عام 2019.

بلال أبو نبوت

بلال أبو نبوت

منسق ميداني أول

بلال أبو نبوت خبيرٌ في إدارة البرامج وبناء القدرات، حيث يمتلك أكثر من ثماني سنوات من الخبرة في هذا المجال و20 عامًا من الخبرة المِهـنية بشكل عام. وهو على دراية عالية بأفضل الممارسات الدولية وإدارة الجودة. ويتحدث اللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. بلال مهتمٌّ بحلِّ النزاعات والاستجابة الإنسانية، وقد أقام علاقاتٍ عميقة مع قادة المجتمع في جميع أنحاء سوريا. كما أدار عدة برامج في سوريا من تركيا. عمل سابقًا مع مركز الإدارة المدنية السورية ومركز المجتمع المدني والديمقراطية. بلال حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في التاريخ من جامعة دمشق.

أيهم باريش

أيهم باريش

مُحلِّل بيانات

أيهم باريش محلل بيانات يتمتع بخبرة تزيد عن 4 سنوات. وهو ماهرٌ في مجموعة متنوعة من برامج تحليل البيانات وإدارتها وتقديمها بوسائل توضيحية، بما في ذلك Power BI و SQL Server و SPSS و Python. أيهم حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الرياضيات، وشهادة مهنية في علوم البيانات من شركة IBM.

أحلام داوودي

أحلام داوودي

مخـتصة أولى في المراقبة والتقيِيم والمساءلة والتعلُّم (MEAL)

أحلام داوودي باحثةٌ خبيرة ومُتخصِّصة في المراقبة والتقيِيم لأكثر من ست سنوات. لديها معرفة ممتازة بأفضل الممارسات الدولية ومعايير الجودة والمبادئ التوجيهية الأخلاقية. اللغة الأم لأحلام هي اللغة العربية، وتتحدث الإنجليزية والفرنسية بطلاقة، وتحمل درجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال. لديها أيضًا خبرة عميقة في إجراء المراقبة من طرفٍ ثالث بالإضافة إلى تقيِيم منتصف المدة والتقييم النهائي وتقييمات الاحتياجات للمشاريع الإنسانية في مناطق النزاع. عملت أحلام مع منظمات متعددة مثل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية ومكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية ومنظمة الهجرة الدولية ووزارة التنمية الدولية البريطانية ومنظمة ميرسي كور ومنظمة Welthungerhilfe.

أمجد حمزة

أمجد حمزة

موظف مراقبة وتقيِيم ومساءلة وتعلُّم (MEAL)

أمجد حمزة لديه ست سنوات من الخبرة العمَلية في إدارة المشاريع والبحث والتحليل والمراقبة والتقييم. يمتلك أيضًا عشر سنوات من الخبرة التطوعية في الجهود الإنسانية وجهود الاستجابة للكوارث. عمل سابقًا في إدارة المشاريع والتحليل مع مكتب المبادرات الانتقالية التابع للوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية في برنامج مُسرَّع يركز على الصراع والتحول السياسي في سوريا. يبرع أمجد في تطوير الاستراتيجيات والمراقبة والتقييم وتصميم المنح وتنفيذها والإدارة عن بُعد والتحليل السياسي وتحليل النزاعات. حاصل على بكالوريوس اقتصاد من جامعة دمشق.

سامي عقيل

سامي عقيل

زميل باحث

سامي عقيل باحثٌ متخصص في الشؤون السورية والشامية، مع التركيز على السياسات الحزبية والسياسة الخارجية وتحليل الصراع. وهو حاصل على بكالوريوس في العلاقات الدولية (مع مرتبة الشرف) من جامعة لاتروب، ملبورن، وماجستير في دراسات الشرق الأوسط وآسيا الوسطى من الجامعة الوطنية الأسترالية، كانبيرا. له مقالات منشورة مع معهد الشرق الأوسط. وهو المؤسس المشارك ومدير التحرير لمنتدى سياسات الشرق الأدنى في مركز الدراسات العربية والإسلامية بالجامعة الوطنية الأسترالية. يعمل في بعثة دبلوماسية في كانبرا ويتحدث العربية والإنجليزية والألمانية بطلاقة.

هاشم حاج بكري

هاشم حاج بكري

مصمم جرافيك

هاشم حاج بكري مصورٌ صحفي سابق من مدينة اللاذقية، حيث عمل مع عدد من وسائل الإعلام المختلفة من عام 2011 إلى عام 2017. بدأ هاشم تعلم التصميم الجرافيكي والرسوم التوضيحية في عام 2017، وهو يدرس حاليًا في جامعة اسطنبول السينما والتلفزيون.

آشلي جوردان

آشلي جوردان

مؤلفة تـقارير

آشلي جوردان باحثة تُركِّز على الهجرة والتوطين وتحوير النِّـزاعات. لديها أكثر من عشر سنوات من الخبرة في العمل الإنساني من منظور مجتمعي ومتعدد الثقافات. تشمل كفاءات آشلي تصميمَ الأبحاث والتقييمات والمراقبة والتقييم من طرف ثالث وتحليل البيانات النوعية والعلاقات مع المانحين والتواصل الكتابي والمناصَرة. شاركت في العديد من المشاريع البحثية، بما في ذلك زمالة في جامعة Koc. وهي حاصلة على درجة الماجستير في إدارة الهجرة والتنوع مع التركيز على السياسات العامة من جامعة إيراسموس، ودرجة البكالوريوس في الصحافة من جامعة ولاية تكساس.

ميساء المسالمة

ميساء المسالمة

موظفة مراقبة وتقيِيم ومساءلة وتعلُّم (MEAL)

ميساء المسالمة تمتلك أربع سنوات من الخبرة في هذا المجال. وهي تدير وتُشرف على توفـر الدعم الفني لفريق المراقبة من طرفٍ ثالث للتأكد من تنفيذ جميع الأنشطة المُخطَّط لها وفقًا للمعايير والجدول الزمني المقرر. وهي تشارك أيضًا في التخطيط الفني وتطوير مجموعات الأدوات وكتابة التقارير. قبل انضمامها إلى مركز السياسات وبحوث العمليات، عملت ميساء كمدير مراقبة وتقييم ومساءلة وتعلُّم في منظمة مستقبل سوريا الزاهر، وكمديرة مركز مجتمعي في جامعة الزهراء. ميساء خريجة كلية الصيدلة والكيمياء الصيدلية بجامعة دمشق. وهي حاصلة على درجة الماجستير في التشخيص المختـبري.

Who we are

Operations and Policy Center (OPC, formerly, Orient Policy Center) is an independent think tank and service provider based in Gaziantep, Turkey. Established in 2014, OPC conducts original research and provides consulting services to enhance policymaking, development programs, and humanitarian response projects. Syrian-led and owned, OPC combines local knowledge with technological and scientific expertise, utilizing in-house statisticians and graphic designers to create original and intuitive final products.

Between 2014 and 2018, OPC was an exclusive service provider to the Orient Research Center (ORC) in Dubai. Since then, OPC has focused on cultivating relationships with governmental and non-governmental bodies working in Syria or with the Syrian diaspora. Currently, OPC is in a stage of growth after significantly upscaling its capabilities due to increased demand from a growing clientele.

our team
Basel al-Junaidy

Basel al-Junaidy

CEO and Founder

Basel Al-Junaidy is the founder, owner, and CEO of OPC. During the Syrian revolution, Basel believed that an independent  and sustainable “think tank” in the Syrian context would be impossible without an innovative, for-profit business model. Basel is also a co-founder and operating director of Az Intelligence, a company headquartered in Dubai which runs online finance and retail investment outlets. He also serves as co-founder and Board Member of Kesh Malek, a nonprofit which advocates for human rights and education. Basel studied medicine and graduated as a doctor from YSMU in 2011, but has not practiced medicine since.

Mohammad Al-Khalili

Mohammad Al-Khalili

Chief Operating Officer (COO)

Mohammad has nearly a decade of successful management and leadership experience. He established the NGO service department at OPC. Mohammad works under the principle that all partners should enjoy their relationship with OPC while receiving the highest level of service. He therefore aims to closely and continuously match client needs with the Center’s areas of expertise, in order to tailor a successful experience for every client.  Before working full-time for OPC, Mohammad filled senior roles in several NGOs, and is a co-founder of several initiatives and organizations, including Kesh Malek, the Leishmania Initiative, and the Darna Center.

Karam Shaar

Karam Shaar

Research Director

Originally from Aleppo, Dr. Karam Shaar has lived in Saudi Arabia, Malaysia, and New Zealand. He was an activist for democratic reforms in the first year of the Syrian uprising, but later fled the country and continued his activism from abroad. His research focuses on Syria’s political economy. Karam’s writings have been published in the Middle East Institute, The Aleppo Project, the Carnegie Middle East Center, and the Atlantic Council, and he has been interviewed and quoted by various media outlets including CNN, The Sunday Times, BBC, CNBC, PRI, Al Jazeera, and others. He is currently a Senior Lecturer on the Middle East at Massey University and a Non-Resident Scholar at the Middle East Institute.

Nisreen al-Zaraee

Nisreen al-Zaraee

Research Fellow

Nisreen is interested in the political, economic, and social dynamics of the conflict across Syria. Though her graduate degree is in Postcolonial Literary Theory, her interests shifted with her engagement as an activist with Syrian CSOs since 2011 in the fields of non-violent resistance, women empowerments, and education.

Orwa Khalifeh

Orwa Khalifeh

Research Fellow

Orwa is a journalist and researcher interested in the sociopolitical changes and political transformation within Syria, with a special focus on exposing the power structures shaped by the struggle of both local and regional forces. He studied political science, has worked as a journalist since 2010, and as a researcher since 2015. His work focuses mainly on tracking militant factions within Syria and their subsequent influence on society.

Rajy Aljoundy

Rajy Aljoundy

Senior MEAL Specialist

Rajy is a Senior MEAL Specialist with nearly eight years’ experience in the humanitarian field. He has worked as a project manager and MEAL specialist in several different organizations, in addition to being a community work trainer. Rajy is a graduate from Aleppo University’s Business Administration program and was a second-year Master’s student in Quality Management before his studies were interrupted by the conflict. As the senior MEAL specialist, Rajy sets up MEAL methodologies, develops workplans, and manages all MEAL projects. He leverages his long experience as a data analyst to analyze qualitative and quantitative data across OPC’s projects, including bidding on new projects.

William Christou

William Christou

Research Fellow

Will Christou is a journalist and researcher focused on Levantine issues, Syria in particular. He graduated from the University of Florida with a degree in International Relations. He then worked as a journalist with Syria Direct in Amman, Jordan, for two years, before working as a freelancer. He has been published in Al-Monitor, The New Arab, and with the Middle East Institute. He speaks Arabic fluently (depending on which of his colleagues you ask).

Motaessm Nawaf

Motaessm Nawaf

IT Manager

Motassem is experienced in e-Training and learning platforms, cultural heritage documentation using 3D modelling and virtual reality, information system analysis, database systems design and implementation, web applications, and services development. He holds a PhD in Computer Science from Jean Monnet University in France, and joint Master’s degrees in Computer Vision and Robotics from Heriot-Watt University (UK), the University of Girona (Spain), and the University of Burgundy (France). He also studied Computer Engineering at the University of Aleppo.

Roaa Obeid

Roaa Obeid

MEAL Officer

Roaa has worked in M&E for over six years, focusing in particular on female empowerment, psychological support, and educational projects. Previously, she worked as a trainer for several local and international organizations, training teachers and support officers in protection, advocacy, gender-based violence, and psychological support skills. She has also worked as a math teacher for children with special needs. Roaa holds a degree in Mathematics Education, and is currently studying Information Engineering.

Sultan Jalabi

Sultan Jalabi

Research Fellow

Sultan is a researcher and sociologist interested in cultural change. Though initially interested in social theory and research methodologies, Sultan’s passion gradually shifted to developmental and applied social theory after earning his Master’s degree. He tries to reflect this passion in his work and strives to produce original studies with a strong grounding in social theory that are useful for policymakers and planners.

Dima Dehni

Dima Dehni

Content Creator and Research Fellow

Dima joined OPC in 2014, where she developed her research skills by working on dozens of projects and later helped found the organization’s media unit. She currently focuses on digital content creation and social media outreach. She is passionate about female and youth participation in the public and political sphere, and wants to use digital technology to reach this audience with innovative, research-based methods. Dima is a 2018 Political Science graduate from Sabahattin Zaim University in Istanbul. She completed a training program in Governance and Peacebuilding with George Mason University in 2019.

Belal Abo Nabot

Belal Abo Nabot

Senior Field Coordinator

Belal Abo Nabot is an expert in program management and capacity building, with over eight years of experience in the field and 20 years professional experience overall. He is intimately familiar with international best practices and quality management. He speaks Arabic and English. Belal is passionate about conflict resolution and humanitarian response and has developed deep relations with community leaders across Syria; he has also managed several programs in Syria from Turkey. He previously worked with the Syrian Civil Administration Center (SYCAC) and the Civil Society and Democracy Center. Belal holds a Bachelor’s degree in History from Damascus University.

Ayham Barish

Ayham Barish

Data Analyst

Ayham Barish is a data analyst with more than 4 years of experience. He is skilled at a variety of data analysis, management, and visualization softwares including Power BI, SQL Server, SPSS, and Python. Ayham holds a Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics, and has a professional certificate in Data Science from IBM.

Ahlem Dhaouadi

Ahlem Dhaouadi

Senior MEAL Specialist

Ahlem Dhaouadi is an experienced researcher and M&E specialist with over six years in the field. She possesses an excellent understanding of international best practices, quality standards, and ethical guidelines. A native Arabic speaker, Ahlem is fluent in English and French, and holds a Master’s degree in Business Administration. She also has deep experience in conducting third-party monitoring as well as midterm, final evaluation, and needs assessments of humanitarian projects in conflict areas, particularly in Syria and Iraq. Ahlem has worked with international organizations and donors such as USAID, UNOCHA, ECHO, IOM, DFID, Mercy Corps, and Welthungerhilfe.

Amjad Hamza

Amjad Hamza

MEAL Officer

Amjad Hamza is a MEAL Officer with six years of work experience in project management, research and analysis, and monitoring and evaluation; he also has ten years of volunteering experience in humanitarian and disaster response efforts. Previously, he worked in project management and analysis with USAID’s Office of Transition Initiatives in a fast-paced program focusing on conflict and political transition in Syria. Amjad is skilled in strategy development, M&E, grants design and implementation, remote management, and political and conflict analysis. He holds a Bachelor of Economics degree from Damascus University.

Samy Akil

Samy Akil

Research Fellow

Samy Akil is a researcher specializing in Syrian and Levantine affairs, with a focus on party politics, foreign policy, and conflict analysis. He holds a Bachelor of International Relations (Honours) from La Trobe University, Melbourne, and a Master of Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies from the Australian National University (ANU), Canberra. He has published with the Middle East Institute and is co-founder and managing editor of the Near East Policy Forum at the Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies, ANU. He works at a Canberra-based diplomatic mission and is fluent in Arabic, English, and German.

Hashem Hajbakri

Hashem Hajbakri

Graphic Designer

Hashem Haj Bakri is a former photojournalist from the city of Latakia, where he worked with a number of different media outlets from 2011 to 2017. Hashem started learning graphic design and illustration in 2017, and is currently enrolled at Istanbul University, studying Cinema and Television.

Ashley Jordan

Ashley Jordan

Reporting Specialist

Ashley Jordan is a researcher focusing on migration, localization, and conflict transformation. She has over a decade of experience engaging in humanitarian work from community-based and intercultural perspectives. Ashley’s competencies include research design and evaluations, third-party monitoring and evaluation, qualitative data analysis, donor relations, storytelling, and advocacy. She has participated in numerous research projects, including a fellowship at Koc University. She holds a Master’s degree in the Governance of Migration and Diversity with a focus on Public Policy from Erasmus University, and a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism from Texas State University.

Maysaa Almasalmeh

Maysaa Almasalmeh

MEAL Officer

Maysaa Almasalmeh is a MEAL Officer with four years’ experience in the field. She currently manages, supervises, and provides technical support to the Third-Party Monitoring field team to make sure that all planned activities are implemented to standard and on schedule. She is also involved in technical planning, the development of toolsets, and report writing. Before joining OPC, Maysaa worked as a MEAL Manager at the NGO Syria Bright Future, and as a community center manager at Al Zahraa University. Mayssa is a graduate from Damascus University’s Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Chemistry faculty. She holds a Master’s degree in Laboratory Diagnosis.